authors, books, interviews

In The Words of An Author: An Interview With Kindra Sowder

When did you know you wanted to be an author?

I didn’t so much know I wanted to be an author. What I did know is that I had so many stories inside of me that I wanted to share with others. After I began to write my first book (“Follow the Ashes”) is when I truly understood that this was what I wanted to do. That was when I was 15 and I wouldn’t change a single thing.

Are there any specific authors who have influenced your craft?

Absolutely. Two of my major influences are Anne Rice and Stephen King. I have been compared to both quite a bit. Another that didn’t come along as an influence until high school was Laurel K. Hamilton.

What, if anything, do you do outside of writing?

I do quite a lot outside of writing. I do have a day job working for a deep sub-prime auto financing company as a remarketing analyst. I also run a publishing company with my husband and partner called Burning Willow Press, LLC. Also, something new, I partner on a brand new magazine but there’s more to come about that venture later.

What can you tell us about running a publishing company?

It’s hard work. A lot of hard work. One thing I can say is that, if I didn’t appreciate how much it takes to get a book out before, I definitely do now. We have signed so many awesome authors that I cannot wait until we release their books. We have plenty scheduled for release into 2016. Between getting cover art done, making sure edits are made and that interior formatting is flawless, I have absolutely zero free time.

How do you manage with such a full plate?

Well, after I get off work I come home and make sure that anything Burning Willow Press related gets my attention, I write, work with my new venture partners to get the ball rolling smoothly, and then sleep lol. This is what my day consists of. And weekend? Pfft…I don’t even know what those are anymore.

You are currently working on 3 different series. Do you ever have trouble keeping the characters or story lines straight?

I don’t. Fortunately enough for me I have a gift of being able to get everything straight without the aid of outlines or any documents of any kind outside of the manuscript. Someone I work with tells me all the time how she has no idea how I keep it all straight and she is extremely impressed. I just blush, shrug, and tell her I have no idea how I do it.

Out of all your current works, who is your favorite character to work with and why?

I love all of my characters so I have no idea how I can choose a favorite. There are some characters that I have grown to love that no one knows about yet. They are my little secret until I finally finish at least one project.

What can we expect to see from you in the future?

Lots and lots. As a fellow writer you know that there is always a flow of ideas that come no matter how many great projects you’re working on. Right now I am finishing up the final installment in the Executioner Trilogy (book 2 comes in July and book 3 in December), the Miss Hyde novellas are really taking off, and I have the beta readers working on the Permutation Archives that I like to talk about. Another idea for an urban fantasy/apocalyptic work is in development as well as about a million others.

What advice do you have for any authors just setting out on their journey?

I have gotten the same advice from other authors I know, but I can’t help but pass it along. Read. Reading the work of other people can only make you a better writer. Also, follow your dreams. I have been told on more than one occasion that I wouldn’t amount to anything. Look at me now. If I had listened to them I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Would you care to leave us a little snippet from one of your books, as well as the links to stay-up-to-date with all things Kindra?

Oh, you bet! This is a small snippet of “The Permutation Archives Volume 1: The Harvested” set for release in 2016.
I then felt a sharp jab in my neck that felt like a needle hitting home. I had missed someone. They were hiding in the back part of the plane I hadn’t seen hidden behind the wall holding medical equipment. How in the world did I miss another person hiding back there? I was in too much of a hurry to find Julius and plot an escape of some kind that I had completely missed it. I felt the drugs being pushed into my veins and then the needle slide from within my skin. As I began to feel its effects I remembered how I felt with my first dose of paralisix and I knew they had given it to me again, but this dose was even stronger. From the feel of it it seemed like they doubled, maybe even tripled it.
My knees almost buckled beneath me and I had to grab onto the table where Julius lay to steady myself. My hand fell to my side and the image of the man’s healthy red cells flew from my mind. I couldn’t focus on anything and my vision blacked out for a few seconds. I could feel my body trying to adjust itself to the medication, but it couldn’t. Not with the dosage I was just given. I slowly turned to look at the person behind me just to see their face. I would memorize it for later when I was able to function again.
His bright green eyes were striking and reminded me a lot of my own, and his strong features were set in a stern gaze as he watched me succumb to the medication. He had a small amount of stubble that made him look rugged yet distinguished and he was wearing the military’s black get up. Why was I not surprised? A military man selling out the supposed enemy? Sure, why not?
I could feel myself beginning to sway, and then my legs gave out entirely. I was falling in the same pattern as I had with my last dose, but much faster. The first time I was able to walk into a whole other room before yielding to its effects. I hadn’t even been able to take a single step now, not that I had even tried really. I rested both of my hands on the ground, putting all of my weight into them. The metal grate was grinding on my skin as I tried with all of my strength to hold myself up. I was trying to fight the paralisix with everything I had, but I was failing. The man then kneeled down in front of me and looked me in the eyes.
“Don’t fight it. Just let it take you,” he said. His voice was like velvet that wrapped around me. Its effect was almost hypnotic.
“No,” I mumbled, shaking my head in protest. “No.” That was the only word I could get out without drooling all over myself.
I could see him hold his hand out to someone behind me and something exchange hands. I moved to a sitting position. I was not going to lie down. I wasn’t. That would mean defeat. He took one of my arms and easily found a vein at the bend of my elbow, and there was nothing I could do to stop him. I could barely form a sentence let alone force my limbs to move. If anything, I was sinking farther and farther into exhaustion now and I was surprised I was still sitting up. He slid the needle in and pushed down the plunger, injecting me with an amber liquid.
“This is a paralisix booster. It’ll intensify the effect of the drug.”
He sure was right because I could see the world beginning to swim and my vision began to blur. The muscles holding me up relaxed and I fell forward and into his arms. He held me there as the drug took effect, moving my hair from my face and making calming sounds. He had apparently done this before. Everything went completely dark as I heard him once again told me not to fight it.
Links
http://www.ksowderauthor.com
http://www.facebook.com/kmkinnaman
https://twitter.com/KindraKinnaman
I can also be found in Instagram
http://kindrasowder-insidemymind.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

