Uncategorized

A New Release

The Calling is a standalone novel. It’s been a long road getting it ready for the world to see it, but I am proud of what I have put out there. Let me share a bit with you:

Excerpt:

Please, Jacquelyn’s voice begged inside his mind, hurry.

You’d better listen to your little girlfriend, the other voice reverberated off his mind’s walls before letting itself be consumed in mad laughter.

Kevin took his time inserting the key card. Trevor was contemplating punching the guy in the face and just doing it himself, but changed his mind, deciding it wouldn’t be worth the time it wasted. The door swung open and he saw Jacquelyn lying on the floor. Her hair soaked and the knot she had tied in her towel had come undone when she took her fall, “Oh my God!” he cried, running to her side.

Kevin stood in the door, mouth agape. “What…the…” he stammered.

“Have a little respect and shut the door,” Trevor eyed the young man with the jet black hair, slicked back all business-like for the briefest of moments before returning his full attention back to Jacquelyn “C’mon, Jaqs. Stay with me. We can beat this, but I need you to help me. Don’t let go. Kayla needs you,” his voice broke, “I need you.”

He put two fingers to her wrist to test her pulse. It was slow, but her breathing was still even. The voice was right, he was running out of time. He didn’t know exactly what the problem was, so he did the first thing that came to his mind. “I need ice,” he spoke to Kevin, though he never took his eyes off the unconscious woman. “NOW!” he growled. There was no time to waste.

There wasn’t much he could do until Kevin returned, so he talked to her. “Just stay with me,” he told her, “I’ll be here to catch you if you fall. Don’t let her get to you. We can beat this. Remember that summer, swimming in the lake, camping under the stars. It all seemed so perfect. I’ve spent the last few years just trying to figure out what went wrong. For the life of me, I can’t understand. I think Makayla knew. There was something in her eyes… I don’t know, but I think all the pieces are falling in together and I just want to let you know whatever happens from here on out, I’m on your side. I won’t let anything hurt you…” His fear was evident even as he scolded himself for the sudden burst of honesty. As far as he was concerned, this was now war.

His features washed over with relief as Kevin came rushing through the door with a bucket of ice. “What are you going to do with this?”

“What do you think happens when fire fights against fire?”

“I’m going to go out on a limb here and say nothing good.”

“Well, one element can’t fight against itself. If two wildfires meet in a clearing, who comes out the victor? Neither flame is going to back down. They’re just going to keep on burning, keep fighting against the other, until they are so strangled they can no longer tell where one begins or ends.” He stopped his explanation briefly to mutter a few words of prayer over the poor girl, “So, when there are no resources left within a single fire to fight, an outside source must come in and straighten it out. Now, if you’ll excuse me, we really need to be alone.”

Blurb:

Jacquelyn Montgomery has been gone for nine years, but now she has been forced to return home by a once-sacred bond. Boundaries will be tested, emotions will run high. Nothing is guaranteed.

Buy Link:

Leave a Reply

