authors, books, children's literature, Coming Soon, cover reveal, interviews, kids books, nonfiction, Uncategorized

An Inside Look At Author Zena Xenae

About the Author!

(In her own words)

zx1

I write both Adult Novels and Children’s stories. I am the owner of Glamma LLC books and publishing. All my books can be purchased at Barnes and Noble and on Amazon.com, My published tittles are Cruel Awakening and Tyler the Wonderkid. My upcoming tittles are Inside Out, Chemo Curls and Pink Awakening My Breast Cancer Journey. I can be followed on instagram @cruelawakening and on facebook “cruel awakening the book” I am a survivor.

INTERVIEW

Have there been any authors who have influenced your work? If so, who?

E.L James. She inspired me to write even though I thought I had missed my opportunity. She showed me that it was never to late to pursue a dream.

Out of all the characters you’ve written, who is your favorite? Why?

My Adult novels thus far have all been based on life events. The characters are real, but I am looking forward to putting my creative juices together and come with a character that my readers will love. However for now I would say Sessie from Cruel Awakening is my favorite character she was my best friend; she died before the book was released. I love that I am able to have her continue to live through my writings.

Are there any types of scenes you find more difficult to write? Which ones and why.

In Cruel Awakening the scene where I have to try and save my children from being abused and trying to shield them as they escaped was the most difficult. I cried through every letter I typed and it was so painful that i put off completing the book for like 15 years because i couldn’t bring myself to complete the chapter.

What would you say the most rewarding part of being an author is?

Holding your book in your hand after it comes from the publisher. The most rewarding part was hearing from other women who were victims of abuse and them telling me my story helped them and made them feel that they were not alone, and that I inspired them to tell their story.

What advice do you have for authors just starting out in their journey?

Don’t ever give up on yourself and don’t be discouraged.

Do you have a writing ritual? If so, please explain.

I love to listen to Caribbean music or the sound ocean waves when I’m writing.

Was being an author something you always wanted to do?

I’m not sure if I wanted to be an author but I’ve known since I was a young child that I loved telling stories. As I child I would write stories then read them to my family. When I went away to summer camp in 6th grade, every night all the girl would come to our bunk to hear me tell them stories it was like I was the television.

If you could have a conversation with any one person, alive or dead, who would it be and why?

Tyler Perry, I would love to know how he gets so much writing done. He is a creative genius when it comes to writing and storytelling.

Would you care to provide an excerpt from one of your books as a sample of your work?

“You can’t have me, Angelo. You lose. You can’t control me. I will escape this madness, let God be my witness. You don’t deserve me. I’m taking all my love back. You can’t do what you want. You can’t hurt me, and you can’t try and tear me down because you are not man enough inside. I have a good heart. I am a good a woman. I have loved you an immeasurable amount. There is no weighted average here. It was all real but what do you do?– From “Cruel Awakening”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CRUEL AWAKENING

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00064]

SYNOPSIS

Cruel Awakening is one woman’s story of abuse, based on actual events set in Baltimore MD in the early 80’s. It starts off as a love story between Angelo and Zikiyah, after the birth of their first child things take a turn for the worse. It gives a truthful look inside a real domestic situation. the physical abuse, substance abuse, infidelities, and a whole turmoil of mixed in drama. Promises to shed light on the domestic violence question of “Why do they stay?” or “Why do they leave?” a page turner, a jaw dropper with very intense love scenes , not for the faint of heart. ends in a very dramatic manner. It will make you laugh, make you cry, make you angry! Intended for mature audiences.

AMAZON BUY LINK

TYLER THE WONDERKID: SHARK ADVENTURE

book_cover_paperback.jpg

SYNOPSIS

Tyler and his Grandpa takes their secret invention with them to the beach. When Tyler and his friends go surfing, they find that they are in for a shark filled adventure. Full of surprises!

AMAZON BUY LINK

UPCOMING TITLES:

minaj_cover

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00050]

Leave a Reply

