authors, books, interviews, music, self help, Uncategorized

In the Words of an Author: An Interview With Ryan David Dwyer

Have there been any authors who have influenced your work? If so, who?

The particular format I used in You’ve Had The Keys All Along is sentence by sentence, which an online marketer inspired me to do. I read their E-book and realized how much easier it is to read information line by line instead of as paragraphs.

Out of all the characters you’ve written, who is your favorite? Why?

I love writing about humanity, our psychological behaviors we really don’t often acknowledge. But my mission is to always provide an antidote to anything I criticize, or else I’d likely be making the problem/s worse.

Are there any types of scenes you find more difficult to write? Which ones and why.

So far my books have been non-fiction, information based. I think the hardest part is editing!

What would you say the most rewarding part of being an author is?

The ability to test what knowledge I truly know vs. what I think I know. Putting it in print is a form of accountability.

What advice do you have for authors just starting out in their journey?

When you have a book idea just get right at it and try to write the whole thing in one sitting. Might not happen but once you know your chapter titles pretty well you already have a head start. But chapter titles should be based on specific thoughts that are itching to get out, that you have a lot of things to say about.

Do you have a writing ritual? If so, please explain.

Not yet! But I seem to be writing a lot of books since late 2014.

Was being an author something you always wanted to do?

I can’t say it was. Although it is much easier than I anticipated.

If you could have a conversation with any one person, alive or dead, who would it be and why?

Andrew Carnegie. He whole heartedly wanted to transform the United States educational system with education that teaches students exactly how to be entrepreneurs, which he said would cut the graduation time in half. I have many thoughts on this topic!

Would you care to provide an excerpt from one of your books as a sample of your work?

“The ability to be a puppet and play someone else’s musical creation – exactly like they did – comparable to training a painter to paint Picasso’s artwork exactly like Picasso. Now imagine how ridiculous it would be to go around and say, “Look! I am spectacular at creating counterfeit art.”

http://www.amazon.com/dp/1523451815/ref=cm_sw_su_dp

Leave a Reply

