authors, books, interviews, Sci Fi, Uncategorized

In The Words of an Author: An Interview With Tal M. Klein

Have there been any authors who have influenced your work? If so, who?

Larry Niven is the reason I got into science fiction.I also really feel an immense amount of debt to Andy Weir, Ernest Cline, and Scott Meyer for inventing the “hard science fiction and also fart jokes” genre, and of course to Douglas Adams for making it okay for science fiction to be funny.

Out of all the characters you’ve written, who is your favorite? Why?

My favorite character is a very old religious zealot called Roberto Shila. He was a lot of fun to write for because he’s so crazy, but he’s also seen a lot of stuff transpire in his long life, so he has a lot of perspective on the world. I grew really attached to him while writing the book, even though some people might regard him as a minor antagonist.

Are there any types of scenes you find more difficult to write? Which ones and why.

I hate describing what people are wearing. In my own life I wear denim jeans and cotton polo shirts, both usually various shades of blue. I have no fashion sense and my wife will be the first to begrudgingly tell you that I never notice if she’s wearing something “nice.” So it’s really hard for me to care about that for the sake of the reader, but since this book is in the future I had to create some future-y clothes. It was torture.

What would you say the most rewarding part of being an author is?

I’m a published musician, and the best part of making music is watching people enjoy listening to it. I’m finding the same holds true for books, but the gratification is much more delayed. A song can be listened to and enjoyed immediately. An album in less than 2 hours. A book takes days!

What advice do you have for authors just starting out in their journey?

This is my first ride on the book rodeo, so I can’t give any advice on publishing. I’ve had many false starts, and what helped me a lot this time was making a mind map of the whole thing. I knew how many chapters there were going to be, I knew the basic outline of each structure, and I knew the ending. That made it easy to write even when I wasn’t feeling creative, because I knew what content needed to be filled in.

Do you have a writing ritual? If so, please explain.

I have a full time job and two young daughters, my writing ritual is: Get some writing down whenever possible.

Was being an author something you always wanted to do?

Yes. Ever since I was a kid.

If you could have a conversation with any one person, alive or dead, who would it be and why?

I think I would really like hanging out with Albert Einstein in his Princeton days.

Would you care to provide an excerpt from one of your books as a sample of your work?

She looks down at the floor. It’s still streaming a live projection from the underbelly of our drone; New York City is a spectacular urban collage quickly shrinking beneath us.
Irit taps her right foot against the projection. “It would not hurt.” She assures me.
“What?”
“It would not hurt if you fell out of the drone. You would fly and then go like this.” She closes her eyes, sticks out her tongue and blows, “Thbbbt.”

Tal M. Klein is currently crowdfunding his work in progress. Check out the link for crowdfunding him here: https://www.inkshares.com/books/the-punch-escrow

For more information on his debut novel check out the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/thepunchescrow/

Want to get to know the author? Check him out and give him a follow on Twitter @VirtualTal

Leave a Reply

