authors, books, interviews

In The Words of an Author: An Interview with H.Q. Frost

Did you always know you wanted to be an author?

I never wanted to be an author, I’ve just always wanted to write.

Are there any specific authors who have influenced your craft?

No. I respect and give props to any author that is willing to let people read what’s inside their head. I have a few authors I love, but none I can say were an influence.

What, if anything, do you do outside of writing?

Accounting. Mother. Wife. Eat pizza.

You were recently published in “Once A Collection of Sinfully Sexy and Twisted Tales” and before that in “Alpha Suits: Suits and Shades”. What can you tell us about your experience working in anthologies?

I love coming together with other talented authors, meeting new ones, connecting strongly with them. The best part is to see the finished product and how different everyone’s writing is.

You recently co-wrote For3ver and are working on a spinoff. What is that process like?

AMAZING! I never wanted to co-author a book but upon meeting Mallory, I knew the experience would be one of the best things ever.

Out of all your characters, who is your favorite to work with. Why?

GAH! Hard question! I think Ian from Destructive Gods. I better explain this one. Ian was the first character that I truly had a grasp on all his emotions. He’s troubled but privileged. He’s passionate but reasonable (as far as expressing his obsessions). He’s a jerk but has never meant to hurt anyone.

The Luxe sereies is almost complete. How does it make you feel to know you’ve almost completed it?

Excited and worried. The entire series has been written for 3 years now, but I’ve always had the option to change things, but as I approach the release of the final book, I won’t be able to change/fix as far as the things I’ve allowed my characters to do.

Is there anything you’d like to say to your readers?

For someone to actually take the time to read the crazy that once lived in my head is kind of a big deal to me. You may not like what I’ve made the characters do, but thank you for taking a chance. I’d also like to say if you’re ever feeling that “yeah right” *eye roll*, I probably did to, but the best part of fiction is the improbable is probable.

What advice do you have for new authors just embarking on their journey?

The one thing that always makes me feel motherly, but it’s the truth, is if you’re going into this to become rich or someone, you’re doing it wrong.

What can we expect to see from you in the future?

My co-authored work with the amazing M. Dauphin: BANG and also Unpaused. The final installment of my Luxe series (untitled as of yet). A standalone that’s being edited now with the possible title of Slowly, Violently, Beautifully.

Would you care to leave us the links to stay-up-to-date with all things Frost?

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/H.Q.FrostAuthor

GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9870795.H_Q_Frost

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/HQ_Frost

CO-AUTHOR PAGE: https://www.facebook.com/malpalwrites

AMAZON: http://www.amazon.com/H.Q.-Frost/e/B00RZTAX4M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1432875341&sr=8-2-ent

Leave a Reply

