Uncategorized

Hunter’s Fall Prologue

I am a monster, an abomination. People (and I use the term loosely) like me should not exist- and, yet, I am proof that they do.

The darkness is my friend. Even with my pale skin, and by pale I mean just this side of pure alabaster, I seem to be able to blend perfectly into the shadows. My long, sleek raven locks are probably my most beloved feature, especially when the moonlight hits them just right and they glisten with their natural bluish color.

I’d never noticed the natural tint before, in what I now consider my other life. There were a lot of things I didn’t notice, then. All my senses have been heightened- colors are brighter, scents are sharper. Even my sense of taste, something I hadn’t expected, has been altered.
In my other life, I craved sweets- with a special passion for turtle cheesecake. Now, that sweet, creamy goodness I couldn’t imagine life without is much too rich for my blood- pardon the pun- as most normal, human food has also become.

That’s one of the biggest misconceptions about my kind. We don’t not eat because we don’t have to, though in all honesty, we don’t. Our bodies don’t process food the way a human body does. I don’t know exactly what happens, it just kind of dissipates from our systems. The truth is: we don’t eat because our taste buds can’t stand the pungency of typical food.

While I’m debunking myths here, let’s go ahead and tackle the sleep issue. Some argue we spend our days sleeping in a coffin- that’s laughable. Though I’m sure there are some that might, I can assure you this is not the norm. Others argue we don’t sleep at all. As I’ve found with most myths, it’s either one extreme or the other. I wouldn’t say we don’t need any sleep, but we need a heck of a lot less than your average, run-of-the-mill human. Personally, I prefer cat naps in the afternoon, during the heat of the day.

That’s another thing, now that I mention it. I will not burst into flames in the sunlight. I believe this myth was designed to help people feel safe, at least for part of the day. The truth is: you are never safe. We don’t glisten like diamonds and our features don’t contort into some demonic state. Other than our pale skin, we give no outward impression of what we are. Our fangs are neatly concealed. When we feed, our already razor sharp canines descend from our gums. With their elongated status, it’s easy for us to draw blood from major arteries like those found in the wrist or the neck.

Have you guessed what I am, yet? If not, I’ll go ahead and say it. My name is Valerie and I am a vampire.

 

END OF EXCERPT. To continue reading, head on over to amazon.com/author/sandraely and pick up your print or ebook copy now. Happy reading, all!

Leave a Reply

